It's a well-known tradition that Brazil is home to raw football talents and that has been proven to be true in the past decades, with a host of talented players coming from the South American country.

The likes of Pele, Ronaldinho, Ronaldo Fenomeno, Robinho, Adriano, and others have burst onto the scene in the last decades and made a name for themselves on the global scene, and even though not all of them lived up to their exact potentials, most of them became well-known stars.


Paris Saint Germain (PSG) attacker KylianMbappe improved his chances of winning the FIFA Ballon d'Or Award at the end of this year after his brace propelled his French team to an impressive 3-2 away win over Champions League holders Bayern Munich in the first leg of their quarterfinal tie.

Mbappe scored twice either side of the interval to take his Champions League goal tally to eight goals in eight games at an average of a goal per game.

French international Mbappe gave PSG the lead against a Bayern team missing their talisman Robert Lewandowski due to a knee injury. Mbappeshot his team into the lead on three minutes after his strike squirmed under the body of Bayern goalkeeper Manuel Neuer when the German shot stopper could have done better.


Paris Saint-Germain forward Kylian Mbappé is already widely regarded as a world star and has captured the hearts of many with his remarkable talent and attitude on the pitch. The young attacker is gifted in a lot of ways and has also attracted some comparisons between him and Juventus superstar Cristiano Ronaldo.

Mbappé joined PSG from League rivals AS Monaco over two years ago and has since gone on to establish himself as a superb talent and also a likely future Ballon d'Or winner.

In his young career, Mbappé played a huge part as he helped his nation France defeat Croatia at the World Cup final back in 2018 to clinch football's most prestigious trophy.


Barcelona superstar Lionel Messi did his chances of winning the FIFA Ballon d'Or at the end of the year a whole lot of good with his performance against hosts Real Sociedad in their league clash on Sunday night.

Messi was the star of the show as Barcelona thrashed their hosts 6-1 to move within four points of Atletico Madrid in the keenly contested race for the Spanish La Liga. Messi scored two goals and also had a hand in virtually all the goals in what was an allround display for the Argentina national team skipper.


Juventus attacker Cristiano Ronaldo didn't do his chances of winning the FIFA Ballon d'Or Award for this year much good after he failed to prevent his team from an early exit in the Champions League.

Cristiano Ronaldo was largely ineffective as Juventus crashed out of the Champions League at the round of 16 and he would have almost hurt his chances of winning the 2021 FIFA Ballon d'Or Award as a result. Ronaldo and Juventus paid dearly for a feeble performance in the first leg against FC Porto.


Bayern Munich talisman Robert Lewandowski didn't do his FIFA Ballon d'Or Award chances any harm at all after he scored one of the goals in the 4-1 thumping of hosts Lazio in the Champions League knockout stage.

Robert Lewandowski won the FIFA Ballon d'Or Award for last year ahead of Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi and he's the favourite to win the FIFA Ballon d'Or Award for this year. The Polish international player scored the opener after nine minutes to set Bayern Munich on their way to a big victory at the home of Lazio in Rome, Italy.

Foden could win the Ballon d’Or award, says Goater

Manchester City midfielder Phil Foden might end up winning the Ballon d’Or award one-day, according to club legend Shaun Goater. The 20-year-old came through the ranks at Manchester City after joining the club as a youngster at the age of four.

After progressing through the various ranks, Foden made his debut for City in 2017. It took midfielder a few years before he was able to get regular action.

Many were sceptical about Foden getting opportunities in a star-studded Manchester City squad. It was always going to be difficult for the midfielder still feature ahead of the likes of players like Bernardo Silva and Kevin De Bruyne.


Bayern Munich hitman Robert Lewandowski is determined to add another FIFA Ballon d'Or Award to his collection after he found the back of the net again to boost his credentials in the race for the FIFA Ballon d'Or Award for 2021.

Robert Lewandowski won the FIFA Ballon d'Or Award for 2020 last month ahead of Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi and the Polish national team skipper is the man to beat in the race for the 2021 edition of the FIFA Ballon d'Or Award race.

He has lived up to his status as the early favourite to win the 2021 FIFA Ballon d'Or Award by starting the year in fantastic form with three goals in two games. His nearest challengers from last year, Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have two goals apiece from the first two games this year.


Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski and Juventus superstar Cristiano Ronaldo have both set their sights on the FIFA Ballon d'Or Award for 2021 after the two superstars started the year in terrific form.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Robert Lewandowski were the top two at the FIFA Ballon d'Or Award for 2020, while Barcelona skipper Lionel Messi completed the top three. The FIFA Ballon d'Or Award recipient was Robert Lewandowski who helped Bayern Munich to five major trophies last year.

The Polish international skipper was the main man as Bayern Munich won the treble last season. He was the topscorer for the Bavarian giants as they recovered from a bad start to win the German Bundesliga title, the Champions League trophy and the DFB Pokal.


The FIFA Ballon d'Or Award is the pinnacle for any player as far as individual award is concerned in the footballing world and some past and present players have won it more than once. The FIFA Ballon d'Or Award was first revealed in 1956 when English football legend Sir Stanley Matthews won it while playing for Blackpool in the old first division in England.

Real Madrid legend Alfredo Di Stefano won the award in the following year (1957) and two years later, he became the first player to win the award more than once. He won the awards while he was on the payroll of Real Madrid.

Since then, nine other players have won it more than once. The others include Karl-Heinz Rummenigge, Ronaldo, Marco Van Basten and Cristiano Ronaldo.